Wednesday, February 27, 2013

ACRL/LLAMA Presidents’ Program at 2013 ALA Annual, leadership moment Essay contest

ACRL/LLAMA Presidents’ Program at 2013 ALA Annual, leadership moment Essay contest

CHICAGO – Join the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) for their joint Presidents’ Program at the 2013 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. Titled “Standing on Marbles: Ensuring Steady Leadership in Unsteady Times,” the program will feature noted author, executive coach and leadership consultant Karol M. Wasylyshyn.

The program, hosted by ACRL President Steven J. Bell, associate university librarian for research and instructional services at Temple University, and LLAMA President Pat Hawthorne, interim chief administrative officer at the Emory University Robert W. Woodruff Library, will take place from 10:30-11:30 am on Saturday, June 29, 2013.

In conjunction with the program, the ACRL/LLAMA Joint President’s Program Committee is excited to offer all ALA members the opportunity to reflect on memorable moments of leadership that have inspired insights into their own leadership or potential.  The committee wants to hear about these “leadership moments” by way of a written reflection competition.

The guidelines for the competition are as follows:

Using an example from a book, film, play, TV show, presentation or any other context where a “leadership moment” might be found, participants are asked to define and discuss how that moment contributed to their own conception of great leadership or inspired their own development as a leader.  In a short essay of 500 words, participants should explain why that moment stayed with them and how it influenced their own personal experience or thoughts on leadership. Winners will receive an Amazon gift card.

Entries must be submitted by May 1, 2013, to co-chairs Valeda F. Dent at and Lila Fredenburg at All entries will be judged by the Presidents’ Program Committee in consultation with the current presidents of ACRL and LLAMA. The winners will be announced in early June 2013.