Thursday, January 12, 2012

AALL/LexisNexis Call for Papers Awards

AALL/LexisNexis Call for Papers Awards


Have you been thinking of writing an article of interest to law librarians? The AALL/LexisNexis Call for Papers Committee has just the incentive to get started. The Committee is soliciting articles in three categories:

Open Division: for active and retired AALL members and law librarians with five or more years of professional experience;

New Member Division: for recent graduates and AALL members who have been in the profession for less than five years;

Short Form Division: for AALL members. Articles in this category will be shorter than a traditional scholarly article, and appropriate for publication in AALL Spectrum, a bar journal, chapter or SIS newsletter.

Student Division: for students in library, information management or law school. Participants in this division need not be members of AALL. To submit in this category, you must have been enrolled in law school, or in a library school, information management, or an equivalent program, either in the Fall 2011 or Spring 2012 semester.

Submissions in the Open, New Member and Short Divisions must be submitted by March 1, 2012. Articles in the Student Division must be received by May 15, 2012.

The winner in the Open, New Member, and Student Divisions will receive $650 and the Short Form Division winner will receive $300 generously provided by LexisNexis®, plus the opportunity to present the winning paper at a program during the 2012 AALL Annual Meeting in Boston!  Winning papers in the Open, New Member and Student Divisions are also considered for publication in the Association’s prestigious Law Library Journal.

For more information, a list of previous winners, an application and instructions on how to submit your article, please review the information below. Winning papers from earlier competitions can also be found at

If you have any questions, please contact a member of the AALL/LexisNexis Call for Papers Committee: Chair, Jennifer Lentz, Vice-Chair, Mark Podvia, Benjamin John Keele, James P. Kelly, Jr., or Shawn G. Nevers.

    Application Information
    Previous Winners


The AALL/LexisNexis Call for Papers Committee promotes the scholarship of AALL members and of students through its annual "Call for Papers" competition. Papers, which may be submitted by active or retired AALL members, or by students in library, information management or law school, may address any subject relevant to law librarianship. Through the competition, the Committee seeks (1) to promote scholarship of interest to the profession of law librarianship; (2) to provide a creative outlet for law librarians and a forum for their scholarly activities; and (3) to recognize the scholarly efforts of established members, of new members, and of students who are considering a career as law librarians.

The recipients will be recognized during award ceremonies at the AALL Annual Meeting. Co-authors of winning papers will share the award. Winners also will be given the opportunity to present their papers in a program at the Annual Meeting of the Association. Papers in the Open, New and Student divisions will be forwarded to the Editor of the Law Library Journal for publication consideration.

Previous Winners:


    Open Member Division: David L. Armond and Shawn G. Nevers
    The Practitioners' Council: Connecting Legal Research Instruction and Current Legal Research Practice
    New Member Division: Margaret (Meg) Butler
    Resource Based Learning and Course Design:A Brief Theoretical Overview and Practical Suggestions
    Student Division: William M. Cross
    Restoring the Public Library Ethos: Copyright, E-licensing, and the Future of Librarianship

For all previous winners, visit: