Tuesday, December 13, 2011

CFP: 2nd Milwaukee Conference on the Ethics of Information Organization

CFP: 2nd Milwaukee Conference on the Ethics of Information Organization

June 15-16, 2012
Milwaukee, WI

Information organization, like other major functions of the information professions, faces many ethical challenges. In our literature, ethical concerns have been raised with regard to, topics such as, the role of national and international tools and standards, provision of subject access to information, deprofessionalization and outsourcing, education of professionals, and the effects of globalization. These issues and many others like them have serious implications for quality and equity in information access. The Information Organization Research Group and the Center for Information Policy Research of the School of Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee join in presenting this second conference to address the ethics of information organization.

Like the first Ethics of Information Organization conference held in Milwaukee May 2009, this conference (June 2012) welcomes papers on ethics and any element of information organization from cataloging standards to tagging; subject access; technology; the profession; cultural, economic, political, corporate, international, multicultural and multilingual aspects.

Invited speakers will include:
Opening speaker: Jens-Erik Mai, University of Toronto
Closing speaker: Richard Smiraglia, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Other invited speakers will be announced.

We invite submission of proposals for papers which will include: name(s) of presenter(s), title(s), affiliation(s), contact information and abstracts of 300-500 words. Presentations will be 20 minutes. Time will be set aside for questions as well as broader discussion. All abstracts will be published on the Web site of the UW-Milwaukee Information Organization Research Group. Full papers will be published in a special issue of Knowledge Organization .

Abstracts due: February 15, 2012
Notification of acceptance by: March 15, 2012
Full papers due: July 15, 2012

Submit proposals via email to:
Hope A Olson, Conference Chair ( holson@uwm.edu )

The Program Committee:
Bobby Bothmann , Minnesota State University Mankato
Grant Campbell , University of Western Ontario, Canada
Allyson Carlyle , University of Washington, USA
José Augusto Chaves Guimarães , Universidade Estadual Paulista, Brazil
Birger Hjørland, Professor , The Royal School of Library and Information Science in Denmark
Lynne C Howarth , University of Toronto, Canada
Charles-Antoine Julien , McGill University, Canada
Joyce Latham , University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Hur-Li Lee , University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Steven J. Miller , University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Hope A Olson , University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Sandra Roe , Milner Library, Illinois State University, USA
Richard P. Smiraglia , University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
Joe Tennis , University of Washington, USA
Michael Zimmer , University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA