Monday, December 14, 2009

CFP: OVGTSL 2010 (Ohio Valley Group of Technical Services Librarians)

CFP: OVGTSL 2010 (Ohio Valley Group of Technical Services Librarians)

THEME: Technical Services: Outthink, Outwork, Outlast

The Ohio Valley Group of Technical Services Librarians (OVGTSL), serving Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio, will hold its annual conference at the Morehead State University Adron Doran University Center, Morehead, Kentucky, May 19-21, 2010.

Featured Speakers: Renee Register, Senior Product Manager, OCLC and Judy Luther, President, Informed Strategies.

The OVGTSL Program Planning Committee invites proposals for 50-minute presentations that explore the spectrum of library technical services. Presentations relating to academic, public, or special libraries from historical, theoretical, practical or visionary perspectives are welcome. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Acquisitions /cataloging /serials, including the management of electronic resources
* Database maintenance, including authority control
* Preservation and archival issues
* Digitization and metadata
* Collection management /gift items /challenged materials
* Changing relations with vendors and publishers
* Managing, educating, and retraining technical services staff
* New technologies /services /software /standards /systems
* Instructional roles for technical services librarians
* Management trends / marketing /funding opportunities
* Communication enhancement tools


OVGTSL invites all interested persons to submit proposals and suggested topics/speakers. Please include the following in your submission:

• Name, Title, Institution, Address, E-mail address, Telephone number of all presenter(s)
• Contact (primary) presenter
• Title of presentation
• Abstract (not to exceed 200 words)
• Format: Individual presentation, panel discussion, poster session, etc.
• Equipment Needs

Proposals should be sent electronically as an e-mail attachment in Word or text format to:

Mykie Howard, Serials & Government Documents Librarian, Morehead State University