Wednesday, January 16, 2008

CFP: The History of American Bestsellers (collection)

CFP: The History of American Bestsellers (collection)

Deadline: February 15, 2008

Following a successful first call for papers, we invite further chapter proposals for an edited volume dedicated to the history of American bestsellers. We are now interested in receiving chapter proposals on the following books and authors. (In instances where an author has a number of texts which might be suitable for inclusion, suggested titles are given in brackets.)

James Fenimore Cooper, The Last of the Mohicans (1826)
Maria Susanna Cummins, The Lamplighter (1854)
E.D.E.N. Southworth, The Hidden Hand (1859)
Lew Wallace, Ben Hur (1880)
Eleanor H. Porter, Pollyanna (1913)
E. M. Hull, The Sheik (1922)
Lloyd C. Douglas, The Robe (1943 and 1953)
Kathleen Winsor, Forever Amber (1945)
Vladimir Nabokov, Lolita (1955)
Grace Metalious, Peyton Place (1957)
Boris Pasternak, Doctor Zhivago (1958)
D.H. Lawrence, Lady Chatterley’s Lover (1928, 1959)
Judith Krantz, Princess Daisy (1980)
Jean M. Auel, Earth’s Children series (1980-ongoing)
Stephen King (It, 1986; Misery, 1987; Dolores Claiborne, 1992)
Tom Clancy (The Cardinal of the Kremlin, 1988; Clear and Present Danger, 1989)
John Grisham (The Pelican Brief, 1992; The Chamber, 1994)
J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter series (1997-2007)
Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code (2003)

Please send a 1500 word proposal accompanied by a full CV to Sarah Churchwell ( and Thomas Ruys Smith ( by Friday February 15, 2008.

Thomas Ruys Smith
University of East Anglia